First DUI Offenses in Florida
Tampa DUI Lawyer
Drunk driving offenses are taken very seriously in the state of Florida. As a result, even first time DUI can carry stiff penalties in the event of a conviction. It should be noted, however, that many of those charged with DUI for the first time do not face jail time unless other aggravating factors are involved, such as an injury accident or the presence of a child in the car. Even when jail is mandated by the law, a judge may levy other penalties in lieu of jail, including house arrest, work release, or a mandatory period of time spent in a residential alcohol abuse treatment center. Additional penalties for a first time DUI arrest may include:
- Fines up to $1,000
- 1 year probation (maximum)
- 50 hours community service
- License suspension for 6 months to 1 year
- Vehicle impound
Legal Help for a First Time DUI in Tampa
If you have been charged with DUI for the first time, it is to your benefit to contact a competent lawyer right away. A Tampa DUI lawyer can provide you with experienced legal assistance in your case, and may be able to have the charges against you lessened or dismissed.
The Law Office of Timothy Hessinger possesses more than two decades of experience in working in the legal system, and utilizes that knowledge every day to the benefit of clients. We are dedicated to assisting individuals in DUI cases of all types, from first time cases to those that involve leaving the scene. If you have been charged with drunk driving for the first time and are unsure of what to do,
contact a Tampa DUI attorney right away for professional legal help and guidance.