Tampa DUI Defense Lawyer
An Overview of DUI Laws in Florida
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol is a criminal offense in the state of Florida. If your vehicle is pulled over and the officer determines that you are driving with blood alcohol content (BAC) above the legal limit, you will be arrested and charged with a crime. If you are facing DUI charges, don't wait to retain smart representation for your case. Our experienced
Tampa DUI attorney at The Law Office of Timothy Hessinger is a former state prosecutor who has the knowledge and courtroom experience needed to aggressively defend your charges.
Florida BAC Limits
Under state law, different types of drivers are subject to varying BAC limits. The following limits are imposed for drivers in Florida:
- Drivers age 21 or older: BAC limit of .08%
- Drivers under the age of 21 (Underage DUI): BAC limit of .02%
- Drivers with commercial licenses (CDL DUI): BAC limit of .04%
Conviction for drunk driving in Tampa will result in harsh consequences, so it is important that you discuss your case and defense options with a proven criminal lawyer at
The Law Office of Timothy Hessinger as soon as possible.
What are the penalties for DUI in Florida?
If you are charged with intoxicated driving in the Tampa area, you are facing a number of serious penalties. The consequences for conviction of DUI in Florida differ depending upon the driver's past convictions within 10 years, their BAC level at the time of the incident, and whether any aggravating factors were involved.
The penalties for DUI are typically as follows:
- Fines ranging from a minimum of $500 to a maximum of $5,000
- Imprisonment for a maximum of 5 years
- Loss of driver's license for a minimum of 180 days to a maximum punishment of permanent revocation
As mentioned previously, the penalties will be increased if you have prior DUI convictions on your record, your BAC was .15% or higher, or if aggravated factors were involved in the incident, including if you caused injury to others (DUI with injury), caused the death of another person (DUI manslaughter), or
fled the scene of the accident.
Click here to learn more about DUI penalties in Florida.
Do you need a DUI attorney in Tampa, FL?
Before entering a plea in your DUI case, it is important that you speak with a skilled lawyer. You only have 10 days after your arrest in which to schedule your
DMV hearing to fight for your license, so don't wait to enlist the strong defense of The Law Office of Timothy Hessinger. Attorney Tim Hessinger worked as a state prosecutor for more 15 years, which gives him invaluable understanding of the tricks and tactics the prosecution may try to use as they seek a conviction in your case. Attorney Hessinger's experience and accolades include:
- Handled thousands of DUI cases
- "Masters in DUI" training
- Extensive DUI trial experience
- Handled many cases with complex medical and scientific evidence
- Former Lead Trial Attorney, County Court
- Former 15 year state prosecutor
Our team can build a detailed defense that powerfully challenges your charges, and we will tirelessly protect your rights. What are you waiting for? Call (813) 501-2688 today for a free consultation!